Nowadays the Celiac Disease it is present in the lives of many. Who more and who less has someone affected among family or circle of friends. And it is that the celiac population in Spain is almost 2%. That means between 450,000 and 900,000 people with celiac disease or some related syndrome.
The nice side of celiac disease is that you can live with it if you eat an adequate diet and follow a specific diet. Aware that change can be hard to put into practice, we suggest you lThe 78 Best Gluten-Free Recipes for Homes with Celiac Disease.
However, before entering the subject, we do a brief review about celiac disease and what we can do about it to mitigate its consequences and enjoy the food without the problems of this intolerance.
What is celiac disease and what effects does it have on health?
Celiac disease is characterized by a permanent hypersensitivity to gluten linked to an alteration of the immune system. It affects the intestine, causing chronic inflammation of the mucosa that causes atrophy of the intestinal hairs and, as a consequence, hinders the complete absorption of nutrients.
It is a permanent intolerance that can arise in different stages of life. In some cases it appears at the time of weaning, in others during adulthood and in others, even in the elderly.
There are no drugs to combat celiac disease. The only treatment that can guarantee a perfect state of health It consists of the absolute elimination of all foods that contain gluten from the usual diet. With this, it is achieved that the symptoms subside and that the small intestine recovers its normal morphology and the absorbing function of nutrients.
Where do we find gluten?
For a celiac, foods can be subdivided into three broad categories:
Allowed foods: They are naturally gluten-free and there is no risk of contamination. They are fresh foods, with the specific exception of grains and cereals that contain it, and also products that have been prepared to be suitable, specific for coeliacs.
- Oils (all types)
- Animal fats
- Traditional butter
- Olives with and without bone or stuffed with anchovy
- Packaged Popcorn
- Sweeteners, including sugar and honeys
- Cheese and dairy
- Legumes and dried legumes: beans, chickpeas, lentils, soybeans, etc.
- Pure cocoa powder
- Grain cereals: rice, corn, quinoa, amaranth, millet, sorghum, teff, and buckwheat (or buckwheat)
- Fish and shellfish
- Vegetable / vegetable / root vegetable puree (no additives)
- Fruits and vegetables
- Raw nuts with or without shell
Foods that may contain gluten: they could contain more than 20 ppm of gluten (parts per million, equivalent to 20 mg per kg of finished product), which is the limit recognized as a tolerable amount of gluten for a celiac, or be at risk of contamination by coming into contact with food prohibited during their elaboration and / or processing.
- Various animal oils and fats
- Some dairy
- Processed vegetables and greens
- Processed meats
- Legume Flours
- Certain dehydrated yeasts
- Some processed fish
- Flavored sugars and sweeteners
- Prepared for dessert
- Some prepared fruits
- Various grain flours
- Slushies and ice cream
Forbidden food: all those that contain gluten or any substance capable of causing an intolerance.
- Wheat products (bread, beer, flour)
- Cereals and pseudo-cereals
- Malt breakfast cereals, malt extracts, and malt syrups
- Common wheat and durum wheat
- Triticale (hybrid between wheat and oats)
- Frik (crushed green wheat)
- Greunkern (Greek green wheat)
- Oats (except certified brands)
Learn to identify gluten
Although the industry is increasingly aware of gluten, unfortunately, it is not always clear if a food is free of this substance. To identify it you have to look for the barred tang seal or the indicative “gluten-free”.
If we can’t find it, we read the ingredient list. It is convenient to know that there is other names for gluten and that in the labels it can appear as:
- Starch, starches, hydrolyzed protein
- Vegetal protein
- Malt or malt extract, malt syrup
- Semolina or modified starches (all within E14 ##)
- E-1404 (Oxidized starch)
- E-1412 (distarch phosphate)
- E-1414 (Acetylated Starch Phosphate)
- E-1422 (Acetylated distarch adipate)
- E-1442 (Hydroxypropyl distarch phosphate)
- E-1410 (Monostarch phosphate)
- E-1413 (Starch phosphate phosphate)
- E-1420 (Acetylated starch)
- E-1440 (Hydroxypropyl starch)
- E-1450 (Starch Octenyl Succinate)
If ingredients appear that are between the second or third, it is best to discard the idea of eating that product.
The 78 Best Gluten-Free Recipes for Homes with Celiac Disease
Following a diet suitable for celiacs does not have to be complicated. Gluten intolerance can be transformed into an opportunity to expand the repertoire of dishes and foods. With a little insight you can prepare excellent gluten-free menus. Here are a few ideas.
We start by peeling the cucumber and washing it well. Then, with a fine grater, we grate it until there is a kind of cucumber puree. We salt it lightly and leave it in a colander or in a strainer to release the water.
On the other hand, in a bowl, mix the yogurt, the oil, the minced garlic clove, the juice of 1/2 lemon (or a little less), the minced mint (it can be peppermint) and a pinch of salt and pepper. . You can also use normal yogurts draining the serum well which they have in a colander, although the result is not so creamy.
Finally, we incorporate the cucumber well drained, stir gently and serve cold. It can be served immediately, but Greek tzatziki is best rested for a couple of hours in the fridge, so it’s colder and a little more dense.
Small glasses of Manchego cheese cream with black olive tapenade
Ingredients for 4 people: 120 g of Manchego cheese, 240 g of liquid cream, 4 cherry tomatoes, 40 g of black olive tapenade, 4 basil leaves, ground black pepper to taste and 2 teaspoons of extra virgin olive oil.
Elaboration: We grate the Manchego cheese. In a saucepan over the fire, heat the cream and pepper, add the grated cheese and cook for three minutes over medium heat while stirring. We divide the mixture into shot glasses and reserve. In another saucepan we put a little water to boil, and we make a small cross at the base of each tomato with a sharp knife. When the water is bubbling, blanch the cherry tomatoes for a few seconds, peel them and place them on top of the cream cheese. We place a teaspoon of black olive tapenade on top of each tomato, top it with a basil leaf and water each glass with half a teaspoon of extra virgin olive oil.
Genoese farinata or fainá
Ingredients for 2 people: 100 g of chickpea flour, 300 ml of water, 40 g of extra virgin olive oil, 4 g of salt, ground black pepper and seasoning to taste: granulated garlic, oregano, grated cheese, thyme …
Elaboration: Start preparing the dough at least four hours before. Arrange the chickpea flour in a container and start adding the water very little by little, stirring with the manual rods as it is incorporated, to first form a paste. The idea is to avoid lumps. Continue adding the water and stirring until you have a very fluid liquid. Cover with a cloth or plastic wrap and leave at room temperature, or in a cool area if it is very hot, between four and eight hours. Stir every hour or every two hours. Preheat the oven to its highest possible temperature, with the cast iron skillet or the casserole or source that we are going to use. It should have a diameter of about 25 cm, and be suitable for those temperatures. Add the salt to the dough and stir again. Remove very carefully and pour the oil over its entire surface. Carefully pour the dough on top – it will mix with the oil without being evenly incorporated, that’s normal. Add plenty of freshly ground black pepper, more salt, and other seasonings to taste, such as garlic or oregano. Bake on the lowest setting in the oven for about 20-25 minutes, until the edge begins to brown and is golden brown. Change the oven to gratin mode, go up to the upper level and grill for another four or five minutes. Serve hot.
Other gluten-free appetizer recipes
Fat-free stewed lentils
Ingredients for 6 people: 350 g of pardin lentils, 2 cloves of garlic, 1 bay leaf, 1 onion, 3 carrots, 1 small red pepper, 1 small green pepper, water or vegetable broth (or a mixture of both), salt, ground sweet pepper and 1 teaspoon of sweet paprika.
Elaboration: We peel and wash all the vegetables and, in the case of the peppers, we gin them. We put them in a pressure cooker together with the lentils (without soaking), the paprika and the bay leaf. We add enough water, vegetable broth or a mixture of both to cover the ingredients and close the pot, placing the valve in position 2. As soon as the steam begins to come out, we lower the intensity of the heat (medium high) and count 15 minutes. We turn off the fire and let the steam come out slowly. When this happens, we open the pot and remove the vegetables. Being whole, this will be easy. If you prepare the lentils in a traditional pot, the procedure is the same except for the cooking time, which will be longer: 50 minutes and with the lid on. This allows you to check the point at any time. We mash the vegetables with a little cooking liquid with an arm mixer. We can pass the resulting puree through a strainer or return it as is to the pot. Add salt and pepper to taste, give one last boil to homogenize and serve.
Roasted Chickpea Salad with Millet
Ingredients for 2 people: 400 g of cooked chickpeas, 1 teaspoon of ground cumin, 1 teaspoon of paprika …